Athens Marathon: Moroccan Soukaina Atanane Crowned Champion of Women’s Race

Moroccan Soukaina Atanane was crowned on November 12 in Greece champion of the 40th edition of the Women’s Race of the Athens Marathon.

Soukaina Atanane clocked 2:31:52s, ahead of Kenya’s Caroline Jepchirchir (2:32:19s), and Greece’s Gloria Privileggio (2:43:20s). 

In the Men’s race, Kenyan Edwin Kiprop Kiptoo took victory with a record time of 2:10:34s, beating compatriot Rhonzai Lokitam Kilimo and Felicien Muhitira of Rwanda (2:12:36s).

The legendary Athens Marathon starts in the city of Marathon and finishes in the Panathenaic Stadium, Athens’ ancient stadium, renovated for the first Olympic Games of the modern era in 1896.

error: Content is protected !!