Grand Prix Hassan II of Tennis: Spanish Roberto Carballés Baena Crowned Champion of 37th Edition

Spanish Roberto Carballés Baena won, Sunday in Marrakech, the 37th edition of the Grand Prix Hassan II of Tennis, a high-level sporting event held under the High Patronage of His Majesty King Mohammed VI.

The Spanish tennis player, ranked 82nd in the world, started off the final on the wrong foot, losing the first set against French Alexandre Müller, ranked 126th in the world, pulling out all the stops in a very close second set (7-6).

Carballés Baena took advantage of his opponent’s fatigue during the third set to secure an easy victory with two sets to one (4-6, 7-6,  6-2), winning his first title on the ATP Tour.

Following his victory, Carballés Baena expressed to the press his “immense joy” to have won his first ATP title at the Grand Prix Hassan II of Tennis, which was a great success both in terms of organization and participation.

Expressing his gratitude to the Moroccan public for its support, the Spanish tennis player (30 years old), who qualified for the final round following his win against British Daniel Evans (ranked 26th in the world), in two sets to one (2-6, 6-4, 6-2), promised to come back to Marrakech to participate in the next edition of the Grand Prix Hassan II of Tennis.

The award ceremony was marked by the presence of the Wali of the Marrakech-Safi region, Governor of the Prefecture of Marrakech, Karim Kassi-Lahlou, President of the Royal Moroccan Tennis Federation, Fayçal Laâraïchi, Director of Sports at the Ministry of National Education, Secretary General of the Royal Moroccan Tennis Federation and President of the Royal Tennis Club of Marrakech, Aziz Tifnouti, President of the Mechouar-Kasbah Urban Municipality Council, Abderrahmane Ouafa, and Director of the 37th edition of Grand Prix Hassan II of Tennis, Hicham Arazi.

The 37th edition of the Grand Prix Hassan II of Tennis, an event of the ATP Tour 250, saw the participation of world-class players, including Italian Lorenzo Musetti, ranked 21st in the world, British Daniel Evans (29), Belgian titleholder David Goffin (40), and French Benjamin Bonzi (45).

error: Content is protected !!